Final Draft

Story board:

Opening sequence: Title “The Pullman Drive”

Song: Born to Be Wild Steppenwolf

  • Fade in
  • Title shot w/ title and director/ editor
  • Car leaving for the road trip
  • Windmill shot
  • Vantage shot 1
  • Vantage shot 2; bridge in the background
  • Palouse shot
  • Go Cougs Barn View
  • Fade out
  • Music Credit

I wanted to put together a video that wasn’t just about myself. As a student at WSU I wanted to compile something everyone could relate to. Originally I was going to do a story on Tacoma but thought the drive to WSU would be a lot more interesting. I happened to be driving there to move into my apartment and just took some video footage from my friend. Even student can relate that has ever driven to the west side of Washington and it is about that time of year when thousands of people come back to campus.

Besides using the visuals of the amazing scenery between Tacoma and Pullman I added some music. I know first hand that you need some good pumped up music to accompany that drive or you may fall asleep so I searched and searched for a good road trip song and finally settled on “Born to Be Wild.” My first choice of music was “Eye of the Tiger” but it lacked relevance to the topic.

The elements do relate to the topic, which is about me. I make this drive quite often and it truly is a time of excitement back to your college life and friends in Pullman. I also am more of a fan of old school rock and roll as apposed to the stuff often relayed on the radio. You can also look into another aspect of my life in the video clips. We go to a school in the middle of no where, yet the students at WSU each have an amazing experience out there.

Any students could instantly understand the scenery and excitement while any other audience would see a pumped up road trip video. I also accredited the artist I am using the music from at the end of the video.

As for the technical aspects, I used the tools I learned during the tutorials. I uploaded every video and put them in order as you would see them driving west to east. I then edited them and show the scenes I wanted. Muting the original audio I added a song of my choice. The other things added included fade in and out as well as titles and credits that fade. The video does end before reaching Pullman but it was meant to just give a taste of the drive and visual aids. I hoped to just make my audience laugh and think about their own driving experiences to WSU and get excited about returning in a short few weeks!

Leave a comment